communication in SCADA

K

kacyp

hi i'm a final year student and doing my project on SCADA, so here i would some help(actually big help) from anyone that willing to help. i am now seeking for many info about SCADA specifically in its communication (eg; media usage, network topologies). i would also like to have some suggection on what really to do for this project. anyone who have any info or source and ideas about what to do , pls reply this message or directly email me, thank you.

K

Kevin Seifert

It would be helpful to know what your after more specifically. There are sooooo many options for communications and scada projects.

Some you may concider is factory automation, water treatment plant process, or agriculture irrigation control and monitoring.

Some communication media include wireless (ie 900mhz or uhf), ethernet (WAN or LAN), or RS485.

What you need are good tools for making graphics, good device drivers and good routines for collecting data and trending. You could use Linux platform or Windows which is your choice or could
make a platform independent SCADA.
Visit www.smbd.org and under automation section there is a Browser SCADA which is platform independent, I believe that this will work on almost any platform. I am also adding a real time trend soon (read on Sunday).

I would recommend that you use the Linux PLC as a base and develop a SCADA for Linux PLC, which would be as practical a project as is possible.
Anand

i would like to do my project on gas and oil industry SCADA system, what i know about SCADA is it is consist of three parts 1.RTU 2.Communication link 3. MTU so my project is more on the communication channel

hope this will help

E

Enrique Fernandez Araujo

Dear Kacyp

I think a good project to develop is a SCADA system running wireless Ethernet, nowadays you may find RTU with Ethernet ports from many RTU manufacturers and there are a lot of wireless Ethernet communications products in the market.