Urgent -- VB 6.0 DLL & OCX related problem

S

Sandeep Shroff

Dear List Members,

I am new to VB programming. I have developed an application in VB 6.0 which is using the standard DLL & OCX. (e.g MSCOMM & MSFLEXGRID ) I am interested in deploying the same on Win NT , Win 2000 & Win 98 / ME operating system. To deploy this application I need to provide the Standard DLL & ocx files. I am interested in knowing --

1) Are this DLLs & OCXs different ( different version etc..) for different Operating Systems ?
2) Also, Do I need to compile & package my application on all this operating systems separately?
3) Do I need individually test out my application on all these platforms ?

An urgent reply to this will be highly appreciated as we have to deploy this at the client site at the earliest.

Thanking you in anticipation

Sandeep Shroff
[email protected]

The ocx and dll files is different for different OS. Thus, you have to complie your applications in different OS. By using VB package and
developement wizard, it'll automatically make a setup file for your applications, which will get all neccessary ocx and dll files.

have a nice try!

Regards,
Fong

Yes, I would. Quite often Visual Basic will inadvertently miss one or more components when creating your deployment (setup). This is quite
easy to overcome by installing your application on some test system [not a system that already has Visual Basic installed] and running the
application. When you run your application you will be informed if a component was missed. Record what is missing, go back to you
deployment utility, manually include the missing component(s), and try again

[email protected]

Hi, I will try to answer your questions.

1. No, it's not diffrent versions on dll & ocx files for diffrent op-system.
2. Yes you need. Because the dll and ocx files needs to be registrated in the register on every machine. (You can also this manually but