control transformers and isolation

B

Bill Sturm

I design many small panels that use 24 VDC as the primary control voltage. The incoming line is usually 230VAC, 3 phase. I have typically used a small control transformer to power the PC and the motion controller. Both components have built-in switching power supplies and can run on 115VAC or 230VAC. I would like to eliminate the transformer to save space and reduce the weight of the panel.

I am wondering if I can leave out the transformer and run the PC and the motion controller directly from the 230VAC line? I suspect that switching
supplies do not isolate the ground from the line. Is this a problem?

I am also planning to start using DIN rail mounted switching power supplies for my 24VDC supply. Will this cause any isolation problems? I have always used linear supplies with a built in transformer, but they are large and heavy also.

Thanks,

Bill Sturm

T
I have been using switchers in my panel designs for about 3 years now and have not encountered any problems, but I have stuck to two brands of switcher power supplies, Phoenix Contact's Quint line and Sola's line so I don't have any
experience with others. I prefer to avoid the higher voltages in control and have only used 230V in panels I build for European installations, and there only when current demands of a 24V device are impractical, such as a very large motor contactor. A high quality switcher will generally provide you with cleaner more efficient power than a linear. But a switcher can cause line side harmonics. The Phoenix Quint -F series addresses the harmoncs problem and may be required (or other similar switcher) in some areas.

Weidmuller makes a line of 24VDC power supplies that take 230VAC 3 Phase input power. These would allow you to eliminate your control transformer and power all of your panel components off 24VDC.

M

Malcolm Burke