Roll your own HMI

T

TConnolly

Looking for input from anyone who has written their own HMI in VB or VC++. I have extensive experience with RSVIew, CiTect, and Factory Link, and have dabbled with several others. Now I have an OEM application where the customer does not want to pay annual licensing fees and the associated headaches. The customer wants to own the HMI code, even if it costs a bit more up front. There is a potential for royalties for each unit sold. Has anyone here done such a project and what was your experience with it? Where did you go for symbols and active-x components? The less I have to create certain items from scratch the better. I looked at the products offered by softwaretoolbox.com. If you have used these what do you think of them?

R
We have been developing OEM App's for seome customers in Mexico, who won't pay for licence Fees.
Our development involves:

Recipe Management/Inventory Control (Access, DAO'S ADO'S)
Real Time and Historical Trending.
OPC based Integration.
Historic Alarms.
Analog Control.
Voice Modem Alarm Messaging.

I Think it is enough.

If you think we can be of your assistance, give us a chance to send you some sample screenshots.

direct e-mail.

[email protected]

L

Lewis Bodden

I've developed several HMI packages. I've also worked with most of the major packages available now. I have done many applications in VB and VBA to interface to PLCs and RTUs.

I can't discuss much publicly about the project that I have worked on, but in general developing your own HMI will cost considerably more in the long run. Think about how many copies one of the current vendors must sell and how much each copy cost before they start to make a profit. You have to remember that after the development cost there is the cost of support. Another consideration is the user base. With a major vendor package, there are many people using it and they will be finding problem, which hopefully will be fixed or at least a work around will be available.