History of PID Control

K

K. PIRABA

Hi friends;

I'm a final year student. PID control has been used more than 50 years. Now I understand how PID control is working. I'm really interested in the history of PID control. Could anyone suguest/provide me some useful story about PID control. who invented the PID control?

Thanks a lot in advance.

I’ve never heard any reference to "who invented PID" - but if you’re truly interested in the history of the subject, then you might find this useful:

Ziegler and Nichols studied the subject way back in the 1940’s - long before electronic computers and PLC’s came along - some of their original tuning methods are still being used successfully today - so no, they didn’t quite invent PID but a lot of people consider them to be something like the "godfathers" of the subject - it took me QUITE a lot of research to find an actual copy of their original publication - but if you’re interested, it’s available from:

the Linda Hall Library, Kansas City, MO
800-662-1545 or 816-363-4600
[email protected]
www.lindahall.org

ask for "Optimum Settings for Automatic Controllers" by John G. Ziegler
from ASME Transactions - the American Society of Mechanical Engineers
volume 64 #8 - November 1942 - pages 759-768

the last time I checked, this title was too old to be listed on the website - I had to phone to get mine - it was about $15.00 if I remember correctly - personally I consider it well worth the money -

hope this helps

P
Hello K. Piraba,

To start with, congratulations for your achievement of understanding how PID control works! Although PID control is based on such a simple thing than negative feedback it is a whole
world with its several modifications, applications, design methods and specifications.