Beckhoff / TwinCAT

M

Michael Barb

I just finished an 8 hour look at the TwinCAT software. We are going to use it for the first time because of a customer requirement. I have been doing industrial controls for more than 25 years and have forgotten more programming languages than I now know. I find the software a very impressive piece of work and wonder where it came from. I find it hard to believe that a small company like Beckhoff could have developed it from scratch.

It is a very large piece of work. Except for games, it is the first program in years that has kept me interested for more than 2 hours. The only reason I stopped was because of the end of the day. While I cannot vouch for stability from extensive usage, I found it very complete and I had no problems with it. I figure they must have started with some open source code or licensed core that came from someone else.

One interesting observation is the way the object oriented roots from C++ or Java come screaming through. I like it but wish they would have carried it a little further. I hope this observation does not scare anyone because they have implemented the concepts very well.

I know that Beckhoff participates in these forums and we will probably get their answer (which I look forward to). Still, I would also like to hear from others also that may have recognized pieces in other places.

Not even close to the same thing. You are mostly HMI tools for VB. Berkhoff does not have HMI but points you to VB. They crunch the logic. Can you reference any one that has used your tools with theirs?

Hey Michael thanks for the nice observations. A couple of comments...