DCS controller configuration

L

Luis

Hi guys!

I am a control engineer of a future thermal plant for research purposes, containing boiler and flue gases analysis. I have to decide the whole DCS system.

What configuration do you think fits better in the process: having the controllers distributed next to the I/O in the cabinets on the platform, or only having the I/Os next to the process and the CPUs next to the global control room of the plant? I mean distributed CPUs or not. I will use Profibus for field, and ind.ethernet interconnecting the CPUs.

There will be around 3000 signals and maybe 3 controllers. If speed required, I could add PLCs, right?

Thanks for you help, cause I am new in this field.

R
You should also look at the advantages of Foundation Fieldbus. That gives you the option of doing the control in a central location or right out in the field Transmitter or control valve.

Roy

No way. FF can only be useful in open loop. In close loops the device response is very sluggish around 31.5 kbps. In distributed fashion go for Optical port processors and s/w for ethernet like foxboro at upper level of control hierarchy and at lower end profibus is advisable.

J
You are totally wrong. There are thousands of plants using foundation fieldbus for closed loop control. Control response period can be 250 ms or even lower, even for relatively complex loops.

You should look at 31.25 kbit/s from the perspective of each PV being only 5 bytes long and that each FF bus has only a few loops. It closes the loop with time to spare.

31.25 kbit/s was selected to enable long wires from the control room to the field where the transmitter sits. FF permits 1.9 km. PROFIBUS, Modbus, or any RS-485 bus can do 12 Mbit/s, but only for 100 m. Once you want to go long distance you must slow communications down due to capacitance of copper cable.

In my personal opinion, using fiber optics for transmitters and valves is impractical.