Modbus frame size

B

Bin

Hi, I am a newbie for Modbus. For my project, I need to transfer a large amount data between devices by Modbus protocol.

My question is whether by any chance I can use frame size larger than 256 bytes.

What are the related issues to increase the frame size to an arbitrary number?

Many thanks!

Bin

Hello,

The quick answer is no.

"A protocol is a set of rules which is used by computers to communicate with each other across a network."

The MODBUS protocol defines a maximum message size of 255 bytes.

Now, if you are in control of both ends of the communication line you can do whatever you want. If you intend to communicate with others using MODBUS then we are back to the 'no' answer.

Good luck,

Mark
http://www.peakhmi.com/

No! If you notice in the Function Code 3 slave response the 3rd byte is the byte count of the data bytes to follow, not including the 2 byte CRC. A byte can have a max value of 0xff (255) but most Modbus implementations have a max data byte count of 240 data bytes plus ADDR, FCN, CNT, CRC1 and CRC2, a total of 255 bytes.

If you change the protocol it won't be Modbus anymore and it won't talk to Modbus devices. If that's not a problem, then go right ahead. Just don't call it Modbus because it won't *be* Modbus. It will be your own custom protocol that just happens to have a lot of similarities to Modbus. If you are going to do that however, then why not just use an existing protocol that is intended for transferring large blocks of data?

Modbus is optimised for frequent transfers of "small" blocks of data (e.g. up to 2000 coils, or 125 registers). When we say "small" though, that is a relative term. It's small in terms of a video stream, but it's large in terms of industrial control. There aren't too many machines with 2000 valves in a single valve bank.