Mark VIe questions

S

sardar9

In recently upgraded 4 GTG F-7E (Non DLN)from Mark IV to Mark VIe. I am hungry for these questions. Our set up is like this. Mark VIe controller (RST) in each control cab with its own HMI. for example GTG1, 2, 3, 4. So there are 4 Mark VIe, 4 HMI + one HMI in control room, and one in engineering room.

How do I know which HMI is server or viewer?

I read a lot about client-server. So who is client and who is server here? I am an operator here, but i would like to know about Mark VIe from this forum. Our plant people still rely on GE since we were a beta site for M4 to M6e. And nobody is expert in IT. This is just a beginning of this thread, as I get more involved, more questions will pop-up. I recently found this side and am sure that there are people (Process Value CSA etc) will come forward to help me. I am trying to change my field for personnel reasons.

I really appreciate anybody's help and thank you everybody in advance.

Thanks
sardar9

Start by studying the "4108" drawing. It is a network architecture diagram, and will show which HMI's are servers and which are not. There is usually an overview diagram on sheet 3 or 4, and then a detailed network diagram on the next 2 or 3 sheets. Then there is usually a sheet that shows hardwired external interfaces to the control panels, followed by sheets showing network switch configurations. Sheet 1 is notes and sheet 2 is usually a hardware list.

I am surprised you only have one HMI in the control room - I would have recommended at least two in the control room. Maybe that's a consequence of being a beta site.

>Start by studying the "4108" drawing.