Mark V questions

J

JiM

Heyas!

Long time reader, first time poster here. First off, just wanted to say what a great site this is! This website has helped me a great deal in regards to my job.

That being said, I have a few (probably simple for most of you) questions regarding the Mark V turbine control from an operations stand point. I'm an operator at a 550MW Combined Cycle facility out here in CA. 2-7FA's (DLN 2.5 w/ MK V) and a D-11 steamer. Before I ask, I will say that we have recently lost a good GE CPM as well as some very good operations guys that were very good at troubleshooting and had a great understanding of the Mark V's,etc.. due to plant political issues. That being said, we as an operations team are lacking as far as troubleshooting and even some of us the basic understanding of things like the Turbine control system.

So, my question is in regard to TTRF and the modes of Operation during, let's say, a start up. Is TTRF temp. the determining factor in when the turbine switches modes? Like at some TTRF setpoint the turbine will switch modes? some of the guys here think it is the MW's and determine the Modes. for example one might say, " The turbine goes into mode 6Q at 75-80 MW".

Any input would greatly be appreciated. I have scoured through our GE manuals as well as searches on here but I can't get clarification. Oh and please keep it simplistic for this humble operator so he can understand LOL : )

Hello!

Yes; TTRF (Turbine Temperature-Reference, Firing) is a calculated value which is compared to various setpoints to determine when to change combustion modes. These temperatures occur at roughly identical loads, hence the 75-80 MW range you referred to. If combustion mode switching happened based on load, it would happen at the same load every time, not in some range.