Oil Vs. Air at High Pressure

B

Ben

I'm a bit new to control and instrumentation, so I'm reading this book called <i>"Instrumentation for Process Measurement Control"</i>. The info is a bit out of date but where I'm working is a bit out of date so not a problem.

In a section explaining the operation of a <i>"Force-Balance Pneumatic Pressure Transmitter"</i>, specifically one based on a Bourdon tube for high pressure it says, "For safety, oil or liquid, never air, should be used for high pressure calibrations." The full paragraph is below.

I'm confused slightly why it would make any difference. I'm sure there is a good explanation, but initially I would see no difference between the two. If something breaks they'll both be at the same pressure I would have thought. I'm sure someone on this forum could explain it.

Book Excerpt
-----