Read Device Identification: Number of Objects

I

Ivo Bauer

I am studying the implementation of "Read Device Identification" function (0x2B / 0x0E). Response data frame for this function contains a field named "Number of Objects", but I do not seem to understand what it means. The Modbus Application Protocol document is not of much help to me in this particular case.

AFAIK, the Number of Objects could have one of these meanings:

1) Number of objects in the list transmitted within a single Modbus response. If multiple transactions are required to retrieve all objects using given access type, this field might have a different value in each transaction.

2) Total number of objects that can be retrieved from a Modbus server device using given access type. If multiple transactions are required to retrieve all objects, this field will retain the same value in all those transactions.

Can you please tell me which of the options above describe the meaning of "Number of Objects" field the best?

Thank you in advance
Ivo

Hello,

The specification reads:

Number Of Objects
Number of identification Object returned in the response (for an individual access, Number Of Objects = 1)

Reads like the "s" not needed.

So, when you read object X the response contains the object ID for verification.

SWAG.

Good luck,

Mark
http://www.peakhmi.com/

Dear Mark,

Thank you for your reply.

> Number Of Objects
> Number of identification Object returned in the response (for an individual access, Number Of Objects = 1)

> Reads like the "s" not needed.

> So, when you read object X the response contains the object ID for verification.

I think this is a typo and the "s" definitely should be there as Number of Objects could have values greater than 1 (see the examples in the specification).

ID for each object transmitted within the same response is already available in the List of (Object ID, Object Length, Object Value).