Simulating a Turbine Generator

D

Dave

Hello, hopefully this question is suitable for this forum.

I'm an engineer at a consulting company. One of the things we do is create customer specific simulations for operator training purposes. We have modeled many processes in the past, but we are now doing several turbine generator simulations. The mechanical side is working well, but I have some questions about how to model the electrical side.

I will preface the questions by saying I’ve done a lot of research on the internet, as well as on this forum, and have gained a much better understanding of the subject than before I started, but I still have some fundamental questions.

My main questions revolve around reactive power, how its “generated” and how it’s dealt with by turbine generator operators. I’ll tell you what I think (mostly based on info from this site) and hopefully someone can set me straight.

VArs are a function of the type of load a generator “sees” and need to be dealt with by changing the excitation on the rotor.

Controlling VArs at the generator (done by varying excitation) is necessary, and VAr creation must match VAr load or the system voltage will change, just like power (watts) creation must match power load, or the frequency will change.

Increasing excitation above what is required to maintain generator voltage equal to grid voltage will cause lagging VArs to flow out of the generator.

Decreasing excitation below what is required to maintain generator voltage equal to grid voltage will cause leading VArs to flow into the generator.

Leading VArs and Lagging VArs of the same magnitude will “cancel” each other out.

Now for some basic questions:

There is a number on the DCS screen for MVAR. How does that number come to be? Is it a directly measured quantity? Is it back calculated using the power triangle from other quantities that can be directly measured? (Remember, we need to simulate this).