Erection and Commissioning

E

erection lead

i'm a mechanical engineer. i worked as erection supervisor in GE machines and also some other turbines. is erection interesting?? (talking about knowledge and making money) i'd like to change to commissioning, what should I learn? how should I prepare myself?

In general, people with mechanical backgrounds make better control engineers than people with strictly a controls background. And, I believe that a commissioning engineer needs to have both experience sets because they have to understand how plant equipments are supposed to work, how they are supposed to work together, and how to make the equipment work together in the plant they are installed in. And, many times it's <b>NOT</b> about making a software change to make it all happen correctly.

Sometimes it's necessary to re-configure the as-found installation, which can be very difficult to get done ("Nobody told us it couldn't be mounted upside down!" or "It doesn't look like it should be rotating in THAT direction!" along with a lot of whining and whinging and complaining.

One of the things I find most distressing about commissioning people (the ones without much experience or who never leave the control room) is that they usually don't understand very basic wiring of various control instruments and devices. For example, RTDs (Resistance Temperature Devices) can cause prolonged problems for people who will NOT go out to the device and verify the wiring has been installed properly. They are VERY simple devices, but some control systems require very specific connections. And some plant/equipment designers don't always provide the wiring one would think would be necessary, but do provide the capability to make things work properly with the wiring provided--if one would only take a few minutes to work out and understand.