GE Frame 5 and Mark II upgrade

J

Juan Collado

Hello,

I'm in the process of quoting a frame 5 (Simple-Cycle Generator Drive) Mark II to A-B PLC control retrofit and wanted to know if you could shed some light into the pitfalls. I'm an Ex-GE Controls Engineer that has a lot of GE Controls experience, but little time with the A-B RSLogix5000 PLC. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Hello,

Pitfalls?

You'll have the usual pitfalls with any modern retrofit, most notably the HMI displays will consume three or four times the estimated effort (and cost) unless you are very firm with the contract, stating any changes after initial approval will be at normal field engineering rates plus T&L.

You will need to write all of the speed control (droop, and Isochronous if existing in the Mark II) and such in RSLogix. An older Frame 5 probably doesn't have a combustion monitor, but it may have water injection for emissions control. You'll have to write the exhaust temperature control algorithm in RSLogix, also.

You'll need to deal with LVDTs somehow (if the macine uses them, which it likely will if it uses gas fuel). And, you'll have to deal with the bipolar servos, which are usually two-coil servos.

Flame detectors may be an issue, too, unless you plan on re-using the existing power supply/indication modules or providing new 4-20 mA detectors.

There's the issue of speed detection for primary overspeed protection, and for that you'll need high-speed detection modules.

There's also the issue of vibration detection; you may need to have new sensors or third-party modules.