BSR and Bit Shifting

M

Marcos

Hello there,

I am currently a student taking a PLC class at college..

yesterday we covered the topic of bit shifting...

the BSR instruction was kind of confusing, it works in a weird way...

my question to y'all is...

in what situation would you use a BSR?

i'm just curious...

B

Bob Peterson

I agree these types of instructions are confusing. I avoid using them if at all possible.

They are sometimes handy for keeping track of when there is a part at a particular station as it goes through a machine.

Or where a bad part is as it goes thru the machine.

--
Bob
http://ilbob.blogspot.com/

G

Gerald Beaudoin

A couple of applications come to mind.....usually found to logically represent the progress of a product as it moves through the sequential stations of a machine. Depending on whether or not a bit is turned on/off at a given bit position, various operations can be enabled/disabled. Have also seen the instruction used as part of a conversion routine where one coding format is disassembled or converted to another format by examining just the lower X bits of a word.

Cheers

I
Bit shift command can be used on Sequence Control or Batch Control, logic
"1" is become an active sequence/step
while "0" are an unactive sequence/step.

When current step/process completely finished, I can progress to next step/process by move the "1" to MSB using shift left, next step will be executed.

Or I can move back to previous step if my current step/process is fail and the operating procedure need to re-start previous process, so I move "1" to LSB using shift right, previous step will be -restarted.