Monitoring PLCs Remotely

S

Shamshun

I am trying to design a system for monitoring a number of PLC-controlled industrial machines. I explained remote monitoring of PLC/Equipment to the factory that hired me, and they put me in charge of "implementing it on our machines" :) Note that I am relatively new to PLCs but I have worked on FPGAs and Micro-controllers before.

The machines that I am talking about, consist of a few ABB ROBOT waterjets (different models) and a number of gigantic sheet forming machines. All of these machines are controlled by S7-300 PLCs and most of them have HMI panels (with MS Windows) connected to them. I am free to re-program their PLC's or add/remove other PLCs to them if it is needed. (I have access to the source-codes)

At first I thought connecting PLCs to a network is as simple as putting a PC on a network. There are a lot of "Factory Floor Supervision" solutions and SCADA products on the net, so I assumed that it is relatively straightforward to do so.

It looks like I have to configure PLCs to connect to a network, add ethernet modules to the PLCs, (use some kind of OPC server) so that they send the variables that I want, then connect them through a network switch, and then convert and show the data that the OPC server has gathered, remotely. Am I right about the process?

I also assume I have to spend some debugging time, "hunting" the variables that need to be monitored remotely. Can I find the address of these variables through Simatic Net?

L

Luca Gallina

> "I explained remote monitoring of PLC/Equipment to the factory that hired me"

My first thought: why "explain" something you don't yet master properly? ;-)

Networking PLCs is not trivial.
Briefly, in your case check first:

- analysis of network family: Profibus DP, Profibus MPI, Ethernet.
Profibus port is standard on all S7 CPUs but you need special hardware to connect a PC to a Profibus network.
Profibus MPI is the standard programming port.