How prevalent is TCP/IP communication in the industry?

F

Fuzzy Logic

Hi,

I'm a younger engineer that has been to only a handful of sites and I'm curious about where technology is progressing. For the most part everyone seems to still be using Modbus-type serial communications however I know there are a few vendors (Omega, Seimens) that offer Ethernet TCP/IP products for data communication.

How is your site setup? Does anyone have a configuration where they can buy an off the shelf TCP/IP product that communicates with a standard windows/linux PC on the Intranet or is that something foreign to our industry?

I was looking at the Omega CNi series and it says their products have an optional web server. What would I actually use this for?

C

Curt Wuollet

You don't have to look very hard, many vendors can do Modbus/TCP. Often you have to ask as they would rather you use their far more profitable proprietary networks/protocols. But The AB Micrologix has a webserver that you can access with any browser and Automation Direct and Opto22 have IO that works with Modbus TCP. You really have to hand it to the drive and instrument people, They have supported Modbus/TCP and that has pushed more adoption amongst PLC manufacturers. On the PC side there are many closed (for Windows) and open source (for both windows and Linux) implementations available. And modbus.org has example code. I think it would be fair to say it's far more popular than many vendors would like. It's hard to sell against free and Open.

Regards
cww

W

William Sturm

I have seem Modbus/TCP far more than Modbus serial in recent years.  Modbus/TCP and A-B Ethernet/IP seem to be everywhere in new systems these days.

A web server in a temperature loop controller would be useful if you would like to monitor the temperature or other parameters from a web browser.

Bill

K

Ken Emmons Jr.