Thoughts on High Performance HMI

I

ih

Hello all, many great moments!

First, I have some modest HMI design experience (ABB and Siemens). A few months ago I've stumbled on a link to a book The High Performance HMI design by Bill Hollifield, Dana Oliver, Ian Nimmo, Eddie Habibi. As much as I could find about it I liked very much, but it's a substantial investment for me. Is it worth the money? Is there any of authors on this forum?

Second, I'm a beginner in HMI design, and the design ideas presented in this book seem like not possible to easily implement in previously mentioned vendor's HMI development tools. For example 1: a vertical bar that colours last 15 minutes of variable change in different colour. Example 2: a dashed lines for upper and lower limits of a variable anticipated during start-up in a trend preview. You can't use this features in HMI development tools, without writing custom made code (like AcitveX). My co-worker told me that kind of code can't be used in real life because it's not vendor tested and approved or certified for working 24/7 without problems.

So my question is: how to implement ideas presented in the mentioned book without meddling in the framework code layer between HMI design tool and operating system?

Third, here's a joke I read a few days ago in some Automation guide :) :

Optimist will tell you the glass is
half-full; the pessimist, half-empty;
and the engineer will tell you the
glass is twice the size it needs to be.
- anonymous

Many greetings!
Ivan Harhaj

A

Arlen Jacobs

The effort is worth it, if you have the right goals defined at the start.
Easier training of new operators?
Wasted time, or mistakes, entering values?
Too many alarms, response time poor?

Talk with the operators, supervisors, and managers. Define the KPIs for each group.
If the operators love their current HMI, and they hit all their KPIs, then it doesn't leave you much room for improvement.