Steam turbine shutdown

C

C. Reihl

Started working at a new 2x1 combined cycle plant and they take the Gas Turbines offline prior to taking the Steam turbine offline. This is totally opposite on how I’ve been trained in shutting down a combined cycle unit. Is there a “right” way off taking a block offline?

[email protected]

I'm an combined cycle operator and We shutdown the steam turbine before the Gas turbine. the reason is to maintain
the good parameters of Steam to avoid the low quality.

S
this makes no sense to me! How do they maintain enough steam to operate the turbine? Do they close in the governor first?

Is there a bypass/ reducer valve for the turbine?

I'm just very curious...

Hey!

At our 2x1 plant we have 2 GE MS7001FA's exhausting to HRSGs that provide steam to an Alstom Steam Turbine. We operate the way your current plant does. If we receive the order to come offline and we are not already running in a 1x1 configuration then the first thing we do is give one of the CTs a stop command. Now, to bring the block offline we will give the second CT a stop command, the steamer will follow suit.