Instrument Learning Materials?

D

Dave

Hi,

I'm a new instrument engineer in oil and gas with 9 months experience and feel like I'm really struggling to get up to speed with everything. I usually work during the day, and then try to learn the material at night.

Does anyone have any good resources for learning instrument/PLC/automation/valve basics? Or even more advanced material? I've been reading Lessons in Instrumentation, a pdf I found on here, which has been AMAZING so far. Does anyone else have any suggestions? I would really appreciate any ideas.

Thank you!

Hi, Dave,

First of all, let me say I've been lax in reading other non-turbine control system-related posts on control.com and completely missed the 'Lessons on Industrial Instrumentation' link. WOW! That's quite a work, and considering the author started a similar project (tome) on electronics earlier it's even more impressive.

Anyway--thanks for bringing that to our (my) attention. For anyone else not familiar with the work, the full title is 'Lessons in Industrial Instrumentation' and it's freely available on the World Wide Web (Internet)--it's LARGE, but it (seems--as I've only had an hour or so to look through it, but you can bet I'll be scouring it for hours in the future for useful tidbits) is pretty concise.

Now, to your question. As noted by the author of the tome a lot of good information can be gleaned from manufacturer's data sheets and even white papers they may have written. If a manufacturer really wants you to buy their product/equipment they are generally going to try to tell you as much about it (how it works; the theory behind it; etc.) as they can in order to differentiate it from the other similar options available in the marketplace. Alas, some manufacturers are much better at this than other (as also noted by the tome's author!), so it's kind of hit or miss--but it's a great place to start.