Design compressor efficiency and capacity - GE Frame 9 PG9171e

M

Marcin2706

Hi.

First I want to thank control.com for a lot of practical informations about GE gas turbines.

I am a PHD student who is developing a mathematical model of Gas Turbine PG 9171e. I have some questions about the compressor in this machine.

1. Can someone give me information about design compressor efficiency and design compressor capacity? I need this values for scaling an existing map of compressor.

2. What is the maximum flow through inlet bleed heat valve (I mean percentage values)- Combustion Chamber is DLN-I

3. And the last question – I need a value of air mass flow rate in case when the Inlet Guide Vanes are full closed (ankle 57 DGA) and full open (84 DGA ).

Thank a lot for answers!
Best regards.
Marcin

Marcin,

We're happy you're getting a lot of good information from control.com.

However, the information you're asking for can be considered by GE to be proprietary information about axial compressor design, which GE wants to protect as intellectual property.

In all the years I worked for this OEM I never saw the information you asked for. I did see people trying to use instrumentation on the axial compressor of machines to try to ascertain this information (illegally).

It shouldn't be difficult to understand how a company who spends thousands of man-hours designing and refining their axial compressor--not to mention the rest of the unit design--would not want this information to be public. If you have a document that depicts per unit air flows, I would be very surprised--not shocked, because some governments are demanding technical information like this for a variety of reasons (some reasonable; some questionable)--so that's possibly why there are not firm values and only per unit values on the drawing. It still provides useful information--but not all the information which someone could use to reverse engineer or copy a design.