Wind-Up Applications Using Brushless DC Motor

C

Chris Ayers

This turned into a wall of text, but bear with me. I'm not very experienced with controls and perhaps it is a simple solution:

So I have been working on the design of a semi-automatic label applicator. I'm starting from scratch, and my goal is to look at existing designs that are on the market and come up with my own design which eliminates much of the mechanical complexity (and cost) through use of controls. In my research I've found that the take up of the backing paper can be accomplished by using only a servo motor, that is, no additional sensors are required.

The design I have in mind would involve a supply reel (passive), guide rollers, a peel plate, nip/drive rollers (which is doing the precision work and has it's own motor), and a take up reel (with a separate motor).

So roughly speaking when the device receives input to dispense a label, it advances the webbing a certain amount until a label sensor detects an new gap between labels. This is actuated by the main drive/nip rollers. Simple enough, just advance at whatever speed is required, and perhaps some ramping up/down too keep things smooth.

The take up reel is a bit more tricky, however. We want minimal slack between the web that is between the drive roller and the take up reel. There could even be a roughly constant tension along this distance. Keep in mind that at this point the precision task has been accomplished and now the take-up reel just needs to keep things neat.

So obviously the take up operation could be done many different ways, but I want to avoid unnecessary sensors and components. I know of (at least) one product that accomplishes this with just a servo with its three hall-effect sensors measuring rotor position. From the manual: "The control current set by the system, in accordance to the state of operation, directly controls the rewind's tension."