GCP, PMS AND DCS INTERFACE

R

RetiredGoblin

Hello everyone,

I am an electrical design engineer in the oil and gas industry. I am currently designing a power generation system that has 3 gas generators (3x50%) philosophy and 1 emergency diesel generator. Because of the large number of loads, I have included a PMS in my design to be able to carry out load-shedding functions SCADA functions, in case a gas generator breakdown or there is a fault. For instrumentation & control purposes, the GCP and PMS will interface with the DCS. My question is this: I know the GCP will interface with the PMS. However, what equipment (GCP or PMS) will interface with the DCS?

My email addy is: [email protected]

Many thanks in advance

Hello,

I don't see a description of what the DCS does. Does it just display information from the GCP and PMS? Does it need to issue some kind of commands to the GCP and PMS?

Most of the GCPs I've worked on had generator metering (watt-, VAr-, volt- and ampere meters), synchronization (manual and automatic), generator protective relays, speed/load raise and lower switches, and voltage raise & lower switches along with excitation metering. Most also had generator temperature metering.

PMSs could also issue speed/load raises and lowers, voltage raises & lowers, and some were capable of initiating automatic synchronization of one or more breakers and others could also open generator breakers as well as load breakers (for load-shedding). Some could also start and stop generator-set prime movers, but that's getting quite complicated--not impossible, but very complicated.

DCSs are sometimes used just for monitoring plant operations, but most sites prefer to integrate control as well as monitoring into a single system--usually the DCS.