Synchronous Generator Characterstics

S

sudamadhav

Hello every one.

I'm just a beginner working in a power plant as technician. lately I came to know about this and I appreciate the efforts made by all, and some of my questions about synch generator got cleared. I would like to know more about armature reaction, speed droop characteristics, and pole slip (exactly when is the condition that forces to happen). I read about armature reaction in some of the threads, but it is not clear. kindly give in a lucid way.

C
As a beginner, you are trying to take a bite out of a very big apple.

I have worked with some of the best in the field of excitation. If you want a easy and clear response to a complex issue. I am afraid just a view paragraphs on this forum will leave you wondering.

I am going to follow this thread as well.

sudhamadav,

Everyone has to start somewhere, so let's get started.

All of these topics have been covered before on control.com, and it seems you have read some of the previous threads. It would be most helpful if you detailed the areas you would like to have clarified. For the issue of armature reaction, have you searched elsewhere on the World Wide Web? I performed a quick search and unfortunately found a lot about armature reaction of DC motors but not a lot of relevant information about synchronous generator armature reaction. Let's table that topic for a while and start with a topic that's near and dear to my heart: droop speed control.

It's important to know that generators do not have droop--the governors of the prime movers that drive generators have droop (turbines; reciprocating engines; etc.). Droop speed control is the governor mode that allows multiple synchronous generators to be synchronized together and produce stable power output. It is also a method of predicting how much the load of the generator will change for a given change in the energy flow-rate into the prime mover.