• Thread starter Alexandre Wipliez
  • Start date
A

Alexandre Wipliez

Hi everybody!

Actually Studying in France , I am in my 1st year of Preparatory Class
for High school.

And one of the job I have to do is to make a Personal Investigation
around a topic i'd like to present in front of another people.

The fact is I need to find something who had a problem and who's been
resolved by an engineer. And I'd like to talk about the Modbus on it.
BUT the thing is I don't find any problems with the modbus. I can't
make a presentation about the interests of the Modbus, but I need to
find a problem around him. Have you encountered any problems during
the creation of this one? Did the modbus had major evolutions? If its a yes, Can you please say me more about it? Maybe we can talk about it on skype or i don't know? Thanks a lot if!

Thanks a lot too for reading this and take a bit of your time.
And thanks more if you take the time to reply.

<b>Moderator's Note:</b> It would be great if some of you would reply to this young man.

To me, the biggest problem with Modbus, is that Modbus data is not browsable - you cannot go to a device and discover that it has a few temperatures and cycle counters. All you can find is maybe 500 numbers, many of which might be utter garbage.

So bottom line, Modbus require YOU to know what the device it, then find a paper/PDF document from the manufacturer which explains that (for example) data number #73 must be divided by 320, then multiplied by 100.0 to produce a power "amperage" reading. Literally, if you do NOT have a manual, you CANNOT use a Modbus device effectively.

There is not much help for this in serial Modbus/RTU, but conceptually, with Modbus/TCP (Ethernet), one could use HTTP to query/GET some URL like "http://192.168.0.34/datadocs.json" and retrieve a machine readable data dictionary.