Speedtronic System - GE

J

JD

Hi,

I am an EPC person. in my project I am asked to update the Speedtronic V Control System to Speedtronic VI Control System for Gas Turbine.

Please tell me what are the important things to be considered for this as I am totally new in this.

Thanks in advance.

JD,

There are so many differences between the Mark V and the Mark VI it's MUCH easier to cite the similarities.

But, it would be difficult to find a Mark VI (new) toady; GE is no longer selling them. They're latest product is the Mark VIe, which is also very different from either the Mark V or the Mark VI (though it does share some I/O terminal boards with the Mark VI product family).

GE offers something called the Mark V Life Extension or Mark Ve Migration or similar other names. It's basically a Mark VIe in Mark V clothing. Many of the things people disliked about the Mark V (high density terminal boards; ribbon cables; cards mounted upside down and backwards) don't change with the Mark V Life Extension/Mark Ve. Many, but not all, of the printed circuit cards change, but the field wiring mess in the bottom of the panel and at the terminal boards doesn't change. There are still a lot of ribbon cables in the control panel, and there are still cards mounted upside down and backwards.

A full Mark VIe replacement would require de-terminating all of the field wires from the Mark V, removing the Mark V, installing the new Mark VIe, and re-terminating the wires on the Mark VIe terminal boards. It would also require loop-checks (verification that each device is terminated where it should be and functions properly)--which should be done when any turbine control system is replaced. But, for the effort it's possible to clean up a lot of wiring problems, and a chance to sort out some field wiring problems and find field devices and instruments which should be replaced as part of this reliability improvement.