TTRXB Temperature Control

T

Turboget

I am an operator of GE 9E gas turbine and want to know why the temperature reference ttrxb while starting the unit and after synch is constant about 610 c? Related to thermodynamic relations it shouldn't be constant while firing temperature changes? and after transferring to temp control it decreases gradually until it equals ttxm. what are the parameters affecting ttrxb before reaching temp control and after that??

Turboget,

There have been many posts about exhaust temperature control on control.com. There is a cleverly-hidden 'Search' field at the far right of the Menu bar of every control.com webpage. (It's recommended to use the Help function to learn the syntax of search entries.)

TTRXB is <b>NOT</b> Base Load Exhaust Temperature Control--contrary to popular belief. Is is Speed-Biased Exhaust Temperature Control, used mostly only for two-shaft GE-design heavy duty gas turbines. It just happens that when the speed bias is not enable, TTRXB is exactly the same as TTRX, which <b>IS</b> Exhaust Temperature Control Reference.

The exhaust temperature control reference is actually a limit on the maximum allowable exhaust temperature for any operating condition. And, the limit is a straight line, or sometimes two or more straight lines, with negative slopes. The maximum allowable exhaust temperature for ANY operating condition is what's termed the Isothermal Limit, TTKn_I, or TTKI_[n]. Usually that value is approximately 1100 deg F for most GE-design Frame 9E heavy duty gas turbines. When CPD (or CPR for newer units) exceeds TTKn_C, or TTKC_[n], the exhaust temperature value begins to decrease from TTKn_I (TTKI_[n]).

So, for all operating conditions up to TTK0_C, or TTKC_[0], the maximum allowable exhaust temperature will be TTK0_I, or TTKI_[n]. And, then TTRX will start to decrease as CPD (or CPR for newer units) increases.