Difference between Mark-V and Mark-VIe

H

hany5757

I was working before with Mark-V and now transfered to a plant having Mark-VIe control system for frame 6 GE GT. I have no experience with Mark-VIe. I noticed there are only R, S and T Processors in Mark-VIe while we had P processors (TMR-X,Y and Z) in Mark-V. So there are no dedicated processors for protection in Mark-VIe? How protection is done in Mark-VIe? What about the PTR & ETR relays? Are they available in Mark-VIe or How this functionality is done in Mark-VIe? Appreciate if more information for the difference between Mark-V and Mar-VIe. Also please I noticed there is history station which was not before in Mark-V?

hany5757,

You need to find GEH-6721, the Mark VIe System Guide, on the HMI and review that document (it's usually two volumes). It's a good place to start understanding.

For the ETR and PTR business you need to go to Vol. II, and look at the PPRO section; you will find there is a TRPG card and TREG card--the TRPG has the PTRs, and the TREG has the ETRs. The fuel trip solenoid(s) (20FG-1 and 20FL-1) are connected between the TRPG and TREG.

The ETRs on the TREG are driven by PPROs--either on SPRO cards, or a TPRO card. The I/O Packs (PPROs) and SPROs/TPRO are the equivalent of the <P> core--<X>, <Y> and <Z>.

In the Mark VI and Mark VIe, one of the three control processors is chosen to be the designated processor/controller: Usually it's <R>, but it can switch to <S>, and it will never be <T> (under normal circumstances). The designated processor is the one that sends information to the HMIs and receives commands from the HMIs for control and operation. No <C> is required.

There are still "SIMPLEX" cards/I/O Packs (as if there were a <C>) for "non-critical" I/O, but they are located in <R>, or <S> or <T>. (The T/C cards for exhaust T/Cs are usually SIMPLEX but there are three of them, in a quasi-TMR configuration--isn't this fun?!?!?!).