MARK VI Loop Test

Q

qhogan1

Here is a quick tl/dr breakdown of my problem. This is the only information I have on a PM I am supposed to complete: SPEEDTRONIC CONTROL LOOP, TEST SMR-260. What am I supposed to do?

Here is the long story.

My plant is using a MS7001EA GE turbine with MARK VI TMR. I am the only I&C tech here and I don't know much about MARK VI.

Our PM software can be a bit light on the details on what is expected of us. The only clues I have as to what is expected of me is this blurb SPEEDTRONIC CONTROL LOOP, TEST SMR-260 and that it was last completed in 2015. I am looking for direction to develop a procedure on how to perform this test. Honestly, I have never done loop testing before either, which seems to be a software test(?).

I have been looking through our manuals, but we don't have any real maintenance standards on site. At least anything I think of as a maintenance standard. I am a bit fresh out of the Navy.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

qhogan1,

Wow.

GE typically uses modified ANSI device numbers which are of the form 63QA-1, for example. 63 is a pressure switch, Q in the first place for GE-design heavy duty gas turbine refers to the L.O. system, the A in the second place refers to Alarm, and the -1 means it is first the low Lube Oil pressure sensing device (in a possible redundant configuration).

There is another device numbering system, KKS (Krappy Knumbering System, as it's affectionately referred to) which is not used very often in North America but is widely used in other parts of the world. It can be very subjective and a low L.O. pressure switch will NOT always have the same designation at different plants all using the same KKS device numbering "system" (hence, the Krappy designation).