30 Percent Trip

A

Ahmad

i am an instruments technician and there is something i cannot handle

am facing a trip in a GE frame 7 B .. when the unit is in start up it reaches Fire and at 30% speed the unit trips without indication

can you help me with this problem?

You really haven't given us very much to go on. What fuel are you trying to start on: gas or liquid?

Are you having trouble establishing flame or is it taking a long time?

Is the flame flickering during firing?

Are the exhaust temperature spreads really high during firing?

If you're trying to fire on liquid fuel, is the fuel supply pressure to the turbine fluctuating or stable?

If you're trying to fire on gas fuel is the gas fuel supply pressure stable or fluctuating?

Is the fuel control valve stable or fluctuating?

What kind of control system? Speedtronic Mark II, -Mark IV, -Mark V, -Mark VI? TMR or SIMPLEX? PLC-based?

You really haven't given us anything to go on, come to think of it.

The only time I've seen this problem on a Speedtronic turbine control-equipped unit is when the Trip Oil Pressure switches are not valved in properly. There's a stoopid bit of logic that will allow the turbine to fire if there is low Trip Oil pressure without an alarm that the Trip Oil pressure is low (!!!), but will then trip the turbine (usually with a 'Loss of Flame Trip' Process Alarm) approximately one minute after the firing timer starts (or the expiration of the firing time) if the Trip Oil pressure is still low.

The valves which control the Trip Oil pressure flow to the Trip Oil Pressure switches were found in the wrong positions. I can't recall if they were draining the oil pressure or blocking the oil pressure to the switch, but the Mark IV (it was at the time) didn't even annunciate a low trip oil pressure, and it did allow the turbine to fire and as soon as the firing timer expired it would trip the turbine with no other alarm than 'Loss of Flame Trip'.