measurement of pulp level

R

raj

I am a final year engineering student and doing my industrial project in pulp and paper industry. My project involves the level measurement of slurry (95% water and 5% pulp) and in industry they use capacitance based DPT level measuring technique. my doubt here is DPT is completely dependent on density of the fluids or solids inside the tank, but how come they use this to measure the level of slurry which has diff. density or SG?

Plz help me towards it.....

R
You are mixing two completely different technologies
Capacitance and DPT which I assume is Differential Pressure do not go together.

Perhaps you mean Capacitance or DPT.

The differential pressure would be effected slightly by the change in density but not enough to offset the simplicity and reliability advantages. The percentage of pulp is likely to be fairly constant for a given tank.

Roy

R
> I am a final year engineering student and doing my industrial project in pulp and paper industry. My project involves
> the level measurement of slurry (95% water and 5% pulp) and in industry they use capacitance based DPT level

I should say it's a long time since I worked at a pulp mill. on further thought, Is it possible they are using the capacitance to correct for the DP level? they could also be using the difference between the two readings to back calculate the pulp to water ratio.

I think you will find a great variation between pulp mills on how they measure levels.

Hopefully a tech with current mill experience will pipe up.

Roy

Hello sir,

Thank you for your reply post.

As you worked in paper industry as per your words, can you please share what kind of measuring technique is suitable to measure the De-inked pulp level based upon your experience.

In DPT,the level is measured based on the formula,
Level=(S.G or density)*(diff. Pressure).