MODBUS RTU to RS485 Configuration

S

Shandene Solomons

Hi there.

I'm new to MODBUS communications and would like to enquire something.

I'm trying to set up comms from a PLC to a Variable Frequency Drive using MODBUS protocol. On the PLC I have RS232 and on the VFD I have RS485 which I have running through a RS232 to RS485 serial converter from MOXA.

The PLC is setup using MODBUS RTU protocol and I'm trying to output a word to a parameter on the VFD. The VFD only has RS485 built-in and on the spec sheet the address I'm looking at is 0x0505.

The PLC has a message frame monitor function where I can read the messages transmitted and received to and from the drive. However, only messages from the MODBUS master (which is the PLC) show up with the following message:

SOH EOT NUL FF NUL SOH  
SOH EOT ENQ ENQ NUL SOH ! BEL

The MODBUS parameters are setup the same (Parity, Stop bits, etc) but I am not receiving any comms back from the slave which is the VFD).

Is this setup incorrect or am I not able to communicate this way at all?

I appreciate your assistance.

Shandene

Decoding/decrypting Modbus messages in hexadecimal is awkward enough, but your message is encrypted in ASCII character codes. You might consider investigating whether the message display/interpretation can be displayed as hex, rather than ASCII.

Here's a decoder table:
<pre>
Chr ASCII Hex
SOH 01 01
EOT 04 04
BEL 07 07
ENQ 05 05
NUL 00 00
! 33 21
</pre>
The first message
<pre>
SOH EOT NUL FF NUL SOH
01 04 00 FF 00 01
</pre>
mixes in an FF character (0xFF = 256 decimal) which is not on an ASCII table, because ASCII is 0-127 decimal, but the message does decode to a complete 6 byte Modbus query (minus the two CRC error check characters):

Master poll/query/request (6 bytes without 2 byte CRC)
01 slave address 01
04 Function Code 04, read input register(s)
00 starting address high 00
FF start address low
00 quantity of registers High
01 quantity of registers Low