480 VAC Induction to 24 VDC Digital signals

D

Daniel Camacho

I understand that rules are rules, However I have never seen in many years of experience an inductive voltage problem with a 24 volt digital signal... For example thare are 10 1 hp 480vac motors with 10 photo electic sensors all in the same wireway all in seperate cables (non shieled). why would this be reason for a separation? If it were a 4 to 20ma signal sure...

My request is: Can anyone explain to me mathmatically or electrially that the inductance of a 3 conductor #10 cable at 460vac can cause or not cause a voltage spike suficient to trigger an AB PLC SLC 504 24vdc Digital input card at a distance of 30 feet? I would like to present the answer to the powers that be, however I am also a realist and don't think it will change matters... But I would like to know for sure....

Responding to Daniel Camacho's Apr 28 query:

Although you have never experienced a voltage induced problem I assume you accept that such (undesirable) effects can occur. Then, one must ask, rhetorically, what is unique about your installation?

First the qualitative analysis.
It can be shown that induced voltage is related to:

1) The mutual inductance between the power and control cable. Individual inductances can be neglected. Mutual inductance is inversely proportiona on separation distance.

2) Physical proximity of the two circuits.
The induced voltage is virtually non-existent if the cables cross at 90° and maximum if their circuit runs are parallel. Note, for the former I said "virtually" non-existent because even if the crossing is exactly 90° it depends on crossing symmetry.

3) Asymmetric power circuit current.