480 volt power of 3 phase question

J

James Battle

I just recently installed a 3 phase 700 amp 480 delta circuit for an upcoming project in my lab at work, and of course i check phase to phase and all seems find. 472, 474, 471volts respectly. Then i decided to check phase to ground, and I understand that with a delta connection there is know equal potential to all three phases and ground. but my concern is when I check on A phase I have 45 volts,B phase 445 volts, C phase 494 volts. can you please shed some light on this matter. I have been working in the electrical field since 1977.

James Battle

P

Phil Corso, PE

Responding to James Battle's Mar 17, 8:59am query... your systems' capacitance to ground (earth) is unbalanced!

Some unbalance is expected for delta-connected systems. But, the level indicated by your measurements is abnormal for a new system.

You should pursue a course-of-action at once.

Regards, Phil Corso, PE {Boca Raton, FL, USA} [[email protected]] ([email protected])

B

Bob Peterson

could it be a corner grounded system? someone working in the electrical field since 1977 should know what a corner grunded delta power system is.

>> with a delta connection there is know equal potential to all three phases and ground.>>

Actually, no.

This is true of wye when the center point is grounded (V_Line/Sqrt(3) ... 480/1.732 = 277V), but only true of delta when phase amp loads are relatively balanced, and the insulation system has the same impedance to ground on all three phases.

Delta "floats", and doesn't have a galvanic (i.e. - hardwired) reference to ground unless added either intentionally, or accidentally, and develops it's voltage to ground across system reactance.