A-B 1771-BCM/BEM glitches

J

JD

Two 8 slot racks, a 5/60 in each, a BCM module in slot 0, BEM module in slot 1 for each. When the primary is put into program mode, the secondary does not take over. I have no experience with A-B's backup system, but have heard horror stories. Does anyone have any tribal knowledge, as far was what to look for?

Another problem, and what started all of this was a RIO fault that took out all the racks (1/4 rack block I/O) on one of the channels. NONE of the racks came back until one of the blocks was removed from the link. The customer did the troubleshooting in the beginning, so unfortunately we do not have firsthand knowledge of what was done.

So I guess there's two issues:

1) an existing problem of a backup system not working.

2) some glitch in the BCM/BEM module hardware that we we are suspecting as the cause of the initial RIO problem.

Thanks for any help.

B

Bill Braband

I did a 5/20 backup 3 years ago. I was a nightmare. The main obstacle to get over is all the BTW's and BTR's. They must match up. Also the blue hose connections must be correct. I will go back and look up my doc's for you to see if I can help you a little more

1/2 slot addressing. What happens if it's not 1/2 slot? Just curious.

It has never worked, to the best of their knowledge.

In one of A-B's bulletins on testing the system, they mention resetting all O: bits relating to the rack/slot where the BEM/BCM are installed. It just so happens that O:1/0,1, and 2 are on (not used in the logic, don't know why their on). Any experience with this?

BEM-BCM that I used once was used along with a standard block transfer program. We never faced any backup problems.

Check cabling and block programs.

What about having different programs on primary and standby or programs not synchronised.

Anand

> 1/2 slot addressing. What happens if it's not 1/2 slot?
> Just curious.