AB Power Flex 70 Drive and Modbus TCP 20comm-m Adapter

B

Basscat

Hi to all,

This is my first time to post. I am a little new to the modbus application. So here is my problem i have 2 Allen Bradley Power Flex 70 AC Drives that i have put a 20comm-m modbus tcp adapters in and i am using a Direct Logic 06 PLC from Automation Direct with a ECOMM100 modbus TCP module in that PLC. and i can't get the PF 70 (slave) to communicate with the ECOMM100 (master)or vica versa. The user manual to the 20comm-m tcp adapter in the PF 70 drive is not being very user friendly when it comes to knowing what registers are for what. And what i mean by that is it talks about using the 10000 range for some of the registers but others it gives me the ranges in a chart that neither of these areas corresponds to the modbus standard.

So if i wanted to read my output frequency or output amperages from these drives in my plc, the address in the user manual says they start at 10001 with possibly offsetting the register address by -1. but those address ranges don't correspond to the modbus standard of the 40000's which is supposed to be holding registers using function code 3. Am i not understanding the modbus standard correctly? If someone could tell me how my combo works here i would greatly appreciate it.

Also i have the modbus tool called (Modbus Poll) and i can't get the drive to respond by using AB's register addresses. i keep getting error messages on the screen saying (SLAVE DEVICE FAILED). i am not sure what particular problem is making it fail. If anyone would like to contact me so we could get together on the phone my E-mail address is [email protected]. Sorry for the long post but i don't know how to explain it all any other way.

Thank You to all that responds.