Any solution for either synchronize generator or system Isolation keeping cost down

A

Afaq Saleem

Hi all,
<b>Background:</b> I hold a bachelor's degree in Mechanical Engineering and currently assigned as maintenance engineer (by a natural gas transmission company) of electric generators operating in Island mode. Also worked one year in a fertilizer plant.

<b>Information Regarding System:</b> We have caterpillar 3516A generators capacity 635KW, 1000 RPM, installed at our company remote stations which operate around the clock to provide continuous power to whole station. They operate in island mode and one generator at a time, so we are used to fight the hunting and frequency variation issues, but few months back at one station which also has small residential colony it was decided by management to connect it to generator supply. Colony require around 250KW power which is arrange by a separate department Colony Power House (CPH) from Utility Power, so final conclusion was to provide 80KW power to one portion of colony. The power lines to colony were already divided as 3 wires for 3 phases for normal load (Lighting Load) and 3 wires for 3 phases for Air Conditioners Load (Power Load), this arrangement existed because we have frequent power outages here and colony power house have small generators to provide lighting load to colony. Previously when Utility Power was available whole load was on utility power , both lighting and power load, but when utility power was out only lighting load was being supplied by stand by generator. But now the power to the Lighting Load is being supplied from the Caterpillar Gas Generator continuously and Power Load is on Utility Power which goes out with power outage by Utility company for few hours each day on random hours.