Base Load Temperature

G

gbala

I am an intern. I just saw on my HMI "base load temperature." I don't really know what it means.

Before I answer, I think if you use the Search box in the top right corner of the forum and search for "Temperature Control" you should find some relevant information, it's been discussed many times before.

If you don't get an answer, reply back

There are at least three "fields" on the left side, center (vertically) of most GE-design heavy duty gas turbine HMI displays. The three are usually: Status, Control, Sequence (if I recall correctly).

I would guess the field you saw change to "Base Load Temperature" was the 'Control' field.

The fuel which is being admitted to the turbine can be controlled by any one of several methods: Start-up, Acceleration, Droop Speed Control, Isochronous Speed Control, Shutdown Control and Exhaust Temperature Control. The last one, Exhaust Temperature Control is referred to by many different terms, including Base Load Temperature Control, Base Load, CPD_biased Exhaust Temperature Control, and so on.

When the given (average) exhaust temperature for a particular axial compressor discharge pressure (signal name CPD) reaches a certain value, then the unit is said to be on Exhaust Temperature Control, or Base Load Temperature control, or CPD-biased Exhaust Temperature Control. At this point, no more fuel can be admitted to the turbine; it is operating at its maximum allowable fuel flow-rate/power output for the given conditions at that time (axial compressor cleanliness; inlet filter cleanliness; ambient temperature and -humidity); hot gas path part condition; exhaust duct back pressure; ambient (barometric) pressure), etc.