BMS/PMS/SCADA/PLC

E

etzzz

Guys… I need your help!

I am a freshly graduated electrical engineer with zero background in control. I am supposed to take over the tasks of our instrumentation consultant who is leaving the company. I need guidelines. How am I supposed to review BMS/PMS/SCADA/PLC or any other automaton systems designs or come up with designs to monitor and control the below facilities? What are the basic field devices required for each one of these facilities? I would appreciate it if I could get step by step instructions to follow.

• AC plants with chillers, cooling towers, etc.
• Buildings (HVAC and Electrical)
• Lifting-stations
• Waste Water Treatment Plants

I just need guidelines to follow in order to come up with or troubleshoot a design for the above mentioned facilities.

BMS: Building Management System
PMS: Plant Management System
SCADA: Supervisory Control and Data Acquisition
PLC: Programmable Logic Controller

Your help is highly appreciated!

etzzz

M

Matthew Hyatt

Your used to homework right? Well, I would say your homework is cut out for you.

I would ask the leaving consultant for some input, get your self subscriptions to a variety of industrial trade mags, do some searching on the internet and start getting up to speed right away.

There are some many diffrent approaches to the items you asked about that the flood of response could be overwhelming.

MJH

J

James Aulgur

We have a lot of independants that work all over the county with different systems, brands, etc... To help support people just like yourself. [email protected] and I'll hook you up.

Jim

Hi,