Bus zone protection

J

john taylor

Hello,

Can anyone explain the basics of bus zone protection on HV switchgear? Thanks.

P

Phil Corso, PE

John, the basic protection scheme used is measurement of differential-current. That is, if any of the incoming supply conductors carry fault-current but none of the outgoing feeders do, then the supplies are tripped. Simple,in principle, but difficult to implement!

Difficulty arises from the fact that there are many pit-falls. In fact, many times the decision's made to omit bus zone protection.

Let me know if additional information is required!

Regards, Phil Corso, PE ([email protected])

John, I will try to explain what i know about busbar protection as i am not a protection engineer. On many installations busbar zone protection is not considered necessary or its use is limited to important substations.Apparently it is justified by the fact that a busbar fault is very unlikely and even if one should occur it would be cleared by another protection. Busbar protection must detect and clear faults within the zone and not trip for a fault at another location.

If all Current Transformers,all having the same ratio are mounted on every circuit connected to the busbar and are connected in parallel then a fault external to the busbar will result in a balance of all CT currents which will not initiate the high impedance relay,but if the fault is on the busbar then the protection will operate. Additionally to this where the design of the switchboard allows for a bus section switch which divides the switchgear into two sections.a fault on either side will trip that section only and leave the healthy section intact. It should be noted that in the bus section switch the CT`s are cross connected ie those on one side are connected to the other side and vice versa.This ensures that all the busbar,including the bus section switch itself will result in a complete loss of busbar. I hope this helps,let me know?

S
Hello,