Can RTU and ASCII slaves be on the same network

S

stherriault

Hi,

I'm designing a modbus master firmware that needs to support any kind of devices connected to it. I've never worked with modbus before and I was wondering if only one protocol can be used at once? What I mean is, does the Master need to support RTU devices and ASCII devices at the same time? Would my master controller need to know how to communicate with each slave?

Thank you very much

P

Patrick Lansdorf

I would say that one normally do not mix protocols on RS485, however I cannot see why it would not work, so I do not agree with Rob.

When sending a Modbus command, only the slave with the corresponding slave Id will/should reply and if a different (ASCII) command is sent, it should not effect the Modbus slaves. The master does not need to support RTU and ASCII at the same time.

Just my 2 cents

Patrick Lansdorf

S
Ok, thanks for the tip :)

Is it that complicated to write a modbus master "stack"? I saw that some companies sell it. There's even a free one but I think it's only for the slave side...

One more thing, is it possible for a master to query what protocol the slaves are using dynamically? My master firmware must be able to support any kind of devices. All of them could/would be on the same protocol ( RTU or ASCII ) but in one situation, all of them could be RTU and in another situation, all of them could be ASCII. Would that be possible to detect this during initialization and use the good protocol afterwards?

Thanks!

Patrick is correct - you could make this work if you really have to. But you are adding layers of complexity. More complexity = More code = more work = more bugs. Its up to you to decide if you really cannot live without this functionality or if your target users can live without it.

Personally I would KISS (Keep It Simple Stupid)

L

Lynn August Linse

> One more thing, is it possible for a
> master to query what protocol the slaves
> are using dynamically?