Career advice sought

Hi guys,

I'm an old school software engineer. Started hacking with Linux over 30 years ago. Went on to university. Followed the money into analyst programmer roles, then IT consulting. Tried escaping it a few times, but for my sins I've found myself back on the tools working as an embedded software engineer for a company doing mission critical radio comms.

Pay is not great, and my passion lies in automation and agri business - have been building my own full scale grow room with all the automation and a reasonable chunk of hardware too - have also built central heating systems and farm irrigation solutions in the past.

Trouble is, I am stuck with a label as a software guy, and despite a bit of PLC experience, and a lot of lower level protocol experience, I feel I never get a look in at contracting for control type work - and of course I can't touch mains+ voltage because of the regs.

I'd happily do the study to get some certification - but in my country you need an apprenticeship first and it's likely way too late for that now.

As I work out the last say 10 years or so of working life, would be nice to get paid for doing stuff I enjoy.

Welcome thoughts, thanks.

What is your crossroad situation? Looking for a new adventure? Do you want to branch out into something new? Have your sights set on an industry that looks amazing?

I'm sure there are tons of people here who would like to provide encouragement or advice if they can.