Career Advice

M

Michael

Hello everyone:

I need some advice regarding my career as an electrical controls engineer. I am an EE with a background in industrial controls and automation. I have been doing this for about 15 years and I have really enjoyed all aspects of it. I have been involved with hardware as well as software (PLCs, HMIs, Drives, etc).

Recently I was laid off and found a job that when advertised seemed the perfect fit (Controls and automation). however after I started I realized it is not exactly what the employer described to me. To summarize, the job does not require my skills in PLC programming, Drives, Motion, etc. The company structure is such that there is a separate software group, which outsources most of the work (PC based control) overseas.

The company and people are great. The salary and benefits are also reasonable. The only problem I have is that I am concerned that I am loosing my edge and not really learning much (ok, some). From experience I know that things will slowdown for this employer as well and I can only rely on my skills to remain employed (if I am wrong let me know).

I have a family and changing jobs scares me, as I have had some bad experiences before, but I am getting bored out of my head here.

Please let me know what you think.

Thank you.

B

bob peterson

I think you have a paying job.

I think that if you really wanted to you could keep your skills up to date.

the thing is that the automation world is constantly changing. No matter where you go there is a chance your skills will not translate well at other companies.

part of being an automation engineer is learning to deal with new things as they pop up. IMO, that is a lot of what I am being paid for. A lot of what i do could easily be done by the typical plant floor electrician these days.

--
Bob

Only you can decide.

If you are unhappy/bored at work, it will show up in your work, and possibly at home too.

Having a job in this economy is a blessing.