Changing the HMI for mark V

E

Efekemo Rukevwe

Greetings to everyone out there. I have very little experience in control systems and Mark V. I work as a contract staff in a power station in Nigeria where a major inspection and maintenance is been carried out on some of their units. The units in the power station have their HMI which were supplied long ago, in the 90's precisely, and are obsolete and in need of change. They have hardware specifications of Pentium II with hard disk of 3Gb and use arcnet cards for interface with Mark V. The operating system run by the systems are DOS. I want to know if these computers can be replaced with more recent ones (maybe Pentium IV systems) without facing problems and if they are to be changed what hardware requirements should i take into consideration.
Thanks
Rukevwe Efekemo ([email protected])

Greetings,

The operator interfaces you are referring to are called <I> operator interfaces, not HMIs. (GE Mark V HMIs run MS-Windows and a program called CIMPLICITY.)

This is not easy, but it has been done. This topic has been covered several times here on control.com; use the Search feature at the far right of the control.com menu bar (after you read the Help for Search).

The problems are thus:

1) The ARCNet cards in the <I>s you have now connect to the motherboard via legacy ISA (Industry Standard Architecture) bus. These cards are NOT available in the marketplace, except from third-party vendors who have some used cards and some new, old stock cards--but they ain't cheap.

2) Most new Pentium motherboards do NOT have ISA bus slots.

3) Many BIOS chipsets on most new Pentium motherboards do not support DOS, or, in the case of Mark V <I>s: IDOS.