Choosing right DCS system

M

Mik

Hello to all,

I need your help choosing between two DCS systems for 250 MW coal unit. Two biggest competitors are ABB 800 xA and Emerson Ovation. I know very little about Ovation.

It seems that 800xA is newer than Ovation and I have some experience with their AC800M controllers. In order to choose right I need additional information:

1. How old is 800xA comparing with Ovation?
2. Which has larger portion of market?

Both producers claims it is state of the art and similar, but it is very hard to find all objective information on their web sites. What is your experience? What would be better choice in long run (say, at least 10 yers)?

Thank you

Some differences are below:

Cost; 800xA has higher initial cost compared to the Ovation. This is true for the full 800xA platform. However scaled down versions (Process Portal) compare reasonably well.

Support; ABB market an Evolution strategy i.e. when they will support existing hardware/software and always offer an equivalent newer product should technology advance as it will.

Simplicity; Ovation seems to be a lot simpler to work on. 800xA uses more server /client architecture so IT skills need to be improved.

Marketbase; Ovation system is based on old Westinghouse System for nuclear plants. ABB have a good track record with their Bailey and Advant Systems.

I recomend you invite ABB and Emerson to pitch their products to you. My personal choice is ABB. The look and feel of the 800xA is really good.

Good luck
Rob

If this application is for the power industry, then there are some serious concerns...

800xa continues to implement the APC portion ( power controls) with the use of visual basic, now an obsolete microsoft technoloty.