Communication between Microcontroller (Master) and Schneider Drives (slaves)

M

malampati

Hai this is surendra,

I have doubt regarding MODBUS communication to communicate the micro controller to Schneider drives using MODBUS RTU communication.

My objective is i want to monitor the 3 Schneider drives from my micro control with help of MODBUS RTU communication.

Here i was follow the RTU frame mechanism like first i have to send

1) slave address 2) function code 3) register address 4) CRC.

Then my doubt is how can i get the slave response i.e (drive response) to my controller. please help me i am new with MODBUS RTU communication.
Thank u

A Modbus-enabled slave, the drive your case, will reply to a properly addressed query/request from a Modbus master. So your microcontroller has to be prepared to receive the reply and deal with the data as soon as the request is finished.

Apparently, your micro controller does not support Modbus protocol, so you have to write the code for Modbus communications?

If so, you need to download two Modbus serial RTU standards

- MODBUS Protocol Specification
- Modbus Serial Line Protocol and Implementation Guide V1.02

from this link (agreement)
http://www.modbus.org/specs.php

Your RTU frame order, 1) slave address 2) function code 3) register address 4) CRC is not correct.

The 03/04 query/request function code frame order is
1) slave address [1 byte] 2) function code [ 1 byte] 3) starting register [2 bytes] 4) number of registers [2 bytes] 5) CRC [2 bytes]

The slave's response message frame is described in the Protocol spec. The master (microcontroller) has to be ready to receive the reply shortly after the query/request message is sent to the slave.

It will be a project.

Thanks for valuable reply.

Could you please tell me is there any terminal (like uart) to check the slave(device) response in the PC.

I already tested with modscan software i didn't get any response back from slave.

please suggest me.

Thank u.