Comparison FF HSE/H1 and Profibus DP/PA/ Profinet

• Thread starter Ing. Fabrizio Di Paolo
  • Start date
I

Ing. Fabrizio Di Paolo

Hi,

I'm new in the field of Industrial Automation and I have a big issue:

I work for an Italian Company building Power Plant, and in one of our PP (using steam) we've started to use the Profibus DP as a fieldbus, connected to a Siemens DCS.

So, I have to check if Profinet can help us to optimize performances of the regulators in case of either normal operation (Load Control, Pressure Control, Temperature Control) or Primary Frequency Regulation. Obviously, they are relatively slow controls, around fractions of second, so we don't need Real-Time responses.

As in Europe, also in Italy Profibus is very common in factories, but I need to compare it with Fieldbus Foundation HSE/H1, to see if this protocol could be more practical to use.

Moreover, I'd like to compare also the Troubleshooting and the Costs in both protocols.

I think to have clearly explained myself (despite my english...), I hope you can help me...

Best Regards, Fabrizio

J
Dear Fabricio,

I assume you are talking about PID control loops here? In my personal opinion Foundation fieldbus (FF) H1 is a better choice here because it is precisely periodic (isochronous). That is, it has a constant sampling interval "scan time" as required by the PID algorithm due to the 'dt' in the integral and derivative terms for best performance. Moreover, in FF the execution of function blocks is scheduled and time synchronized with the communication for the same reason. This is the biggest difference between Fieldbus and PROFIBUS which is 'free running'.

Meeting fraction of a second period is possible provided you use fast
devices.

Cheers,
Jonas

PROFIBUS-DP V2 provides also precisely isochronous operation. This is
also the case with ProfiNet IRT.

Best Regards,
Armin Steinhoff

Dear Mr. Jonas,