Control a DC motor using PLC

E

Eric

Hello

I am not experienced with PLCs and and new to my job and need a little help. What I am looking to do is monitor the RPMs of a shaft connected to a DC motor, and control the RPMs. I would like it so that the operator types in the RPMs they are looking to achieve, or pushes up or down on a keypad until the number is hit, and then the motor rotates at that speed. Can this be done and can someone guide me in the right direction?

Thanks
Eric

You are looking for a servo controller. This are off the shelf and used with a lot of PLCs. Talk to your local automation distributors about what you are trying to do and get them to make a recommendation. You will need their help on sizing the motor and drive to work with your specific load.

S
Sure, I've done it many times. I'm assuming a small sub-fractional hp motor, say 1/10-1/3hp. The drives for those, from KB Electronics, Bodine, Minarik, and so on, will take an analog input from your PLC that will control the speed. You can either close the loop with an encoder or tach back to the PLC, or some of the drives will close the loop themselves with tach feedback.

Make sure you check to see if isolation is needed. A lot of times the control circuit of the drives are at 60 volts or more from ground and will need isolation for the analog signal coming from the PLC (although some drives have it built-in or as an optional item that integrates right on the drive) or you can buy a separate standalone isolator.

W

William Sturm

That is not an easy task, especially for a beginner. You might see if your PLC has a motion control card available, it might be easier. Some PLC's have some limited motion control capability, it would be helpful to know what type of PLC you plan to use.

Bill Sturm

S