Control choice for gasifier project

E

Erik Friesen

I am in the process of choosing a control system for a chicken litter gasifier. I have been looking at different options. The client wants an hmi. I have been looking at the ctouch and the directlogic205 or similar from automationdirect. Since I have some background in microcontrollers and also vb.net, I have also considered creating my own cpu and controlling standard i/o modules via a modbus/rtu communications module.

I think the plc method would be easier to get up and running but here is the crux of the matter to me. There will be a fairly complex pid style loop. There are numerous thermocouples inside the gasifier. Depending on the temperature of these, the incoming air will need to be adjusted to some as of yet unknown formula. This will be controlled with a frequency drive on a 1/4 fan motor. The material feed may also need to be adjusted or modified from this loop. It will be a hydraulic feed. The gases will be burned in a controlled chamber also. This also will need some sort of controlled loop.

My preference would be to be able to program this in c or the like. However, that is not a must. I see many plc's software (at least directlogic) is unable to do low level programming. Will off-the-shelf PID take care of these requirements? Are there any recommendations on what level of equipment would be needed?

The best process control engineer I know is Gregg Knapp. He is also a chemical engineer which brings an additional benefit. His firm has designed and built numerous SCADA systems for me.

The firm is Knapp Engineering Prospect CT
(203) 758-3503